Ming-Yuen S. Ma Compilation

thumbnail unavailable
  • Ming-Yuen S. Ma Compilation

  • Artist: Ming-Yuen S. Ma
  • Year: 1991
  • Duration: 32:00
  • Country: United States
  • 1. AURA (7 mins 1991)
    What s the connection between an Asian drag queen and ancient Chinese poetry? What is the significance of Asian gay men flaunting costumes more Hollywood than Bejing? Find the answers in this deconstructed music video.
    2. LET MY PEOPLE GO (with Tran T. Kim-Trang 5 mins 1992)
    Scenes from the L.A. Rebelliopn, pro-democracy demonstrations in Beijing, the fall of the Berlin Wall, and images from the AIDS activist movement in the USA are montaged together, set to the haunting sounds of Diamanda Galas singing ÒLet My People Go . A poignant play on memory, and a stirring call to action.
    3. TOC STOREE (22 mins 1994)
    This video utilizes the story-telling format to create a multilevel narrative that explores the relations between speech, language, and desire. Addressing the issue of sexulaity, subjectivity, tradition and identity in a Gay Asian context.

  • Accession #: 2277
  • Distribution Status: In Library Only
Video Out